“The one thing I want for everybody in this crowd, going forward in their life. Just think about it, just think about it. And I just gotta get this out tonight. Think about how much energy you’re using on criticizing yourself, before anybody else criticizes you. Just think about how much energy, before you leave the house. Think of how many words you’re using in someone else’s voice. When you tell yourself, you’re not good enough. Just think about putting an outfit on before you leave the house and some other voice in your head, you assuming the role of some critic. Saying that looks ugly, or you’re too fat, or you don’t look good enough. That is all wasted energy, and it’s coming from here. And I just wanna use this song for one second. I don’t mean to be corny. Just take all that energy that you are using to assume that it’s not good enough, or it’s not fast enough, or it’s not strong enough, or you’re not cute enough. And just use that all for love. Just use it all for loving yourself. ‘Cause I love you, and I love looking out at you, and I believe in each and every one of you, like I believe in myself. And it’s easier said than done, but if you put on a dress before you leave, ladies, and you like it, just walk out the door in it. And if anybody tells you that they don’t like that dress just look at them and go, “Well I love it.” And guys, if you try a new pair of shoes, or some slacks that are too tight, and you look in the mirror and go, “These are too tight”— if you like them, just wear them. We’re living in a world right now where there is just too much energy spent on criticizing ourselves, before anybody ever said a word to us. And I just want to put that back, and to, like, take that energy and use it for the right stuff. Take that energy and use it for loving yourself, and loving everybody else. There is just too much self-hatred going on. I do it to myself all the time. I’m on the phone to the therapist like four times a week trying to stop it. And I’m gonna stop it, if you guys stop it. So let’s just love ourselves, and each other. You know what I’m saying? No more self-hatred. Just love yourself. If you throw it on, and you like it. Like it. Stand up for yourself. ‘Cause as soon as you tell someone else you like it. They’ll tell you they like it, too. Because everybody is a wimp. Anybody who criticizes you is a wimp. So be you. And be you loud, and be you strong, and be you to the maximum. That’s all it is in this world baby.”

~ by kaiyang on October 2, 2010.

Leave a comment